I’m a little curious about what sodas Henry Weinhard makes.
So, I did some research, and here’s what I found.
Whether you’re interested in what’s in Henry Weinhard’s sodas, whether it’s gluten-free if it contains caffeine, and where you can buy it.
Here’s everything you’ll need to know about Henry Weinhard soda flavors.
Henry Weinhard’s Root Beer ingredients
Here’s a table which shows the ingredients list of all their other sodas, so you can see how they differ:
|Orange Cream||Vanilla Cream||Black Cherry Cream||Root Beer|
|Carbonated Water||Carbonated Water||Carbonated Water||Carbonated Water|
|High Fructose Corn Syrup And/or Sugar||High Fructose Corn Syrup||High Fructose Corn Syrup||High Fructose Corn Syrup|
|Citric Acid||Pure Vanilla Bean Extract||Caramel Color||Caramel Color|
|Sodium Benzoate (To Preserve Taste)||Citric Acid||Red #40||Vanilla Extract|
|Natural And Artificial Flavor||Sodium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness)||Blue #1||Natural Flavors|
|Modified Food Starch||Botanical Extracts||Natural And Artificial Flavors||Phosphoric Acid|
|Erythorbic Acid||Caramel Color||Sodium Benzoate (As A Preservative)||Sodium Benzoate (Preserves Freshness)|
|Yellow #6||Honey||Citric Acid||Honey Essence|
|Glycerol Ester Of Wood Rosin||Natural Flavors||Acacia Sassafras Extract|
|Brominated Vegetable Oil||–||–||–|
The Henry Weinhard brand started in 1856 in Portland, Oregon, according to Wikipedia.
But, the official Henry Weinhard website doesn’t say when they started selling root beer.
And it is thought to have been first sold in 1876 by the brand Hires.
Which gives a ballpark estimate for around when it was first sold by Henry Weinhard.
Originally, root beer was made with sassafras root which is native to North America.
And is still present in modern-day Henry Weinhard root beer, as listed in the ingredients – ‘Acacia sassafras extract’.
Interestingly root beer isn’t as widely available in other countries as it is in the USA for a few reasons.
I wrote about this fact in more detail in my Do They Have Root Beer in England? article.
Root beer is technically, a carbonated herbal tea.
And subtle variations that may have tasted like root beer could have been around long before it was first sold commercially.
Some root beers have a characteristic licorice taste, which they get from licorice root.
And many people say that root beer in general tastes like toothpaste or mouthwash.
Is Henry Weinhard root beer gluten free?
To be 100% sure that a root beer does NOT gluten, you’ll want to buy one that’s certified gluten-free.
Websites like Healthline say that most sodas are gluten-free except for those that are made with malt.
Because malt is made from barley and wheat.
If you have celiac disease it’s a safer bet to avoid any sodas that aren’t certified gluten free.
Is Henry Weinhard’s root beer caffeine free?
Who sells Henry Weinhard root beer?
Henry Weinhard is owned by Molson Coors Beverage company, but on their website, they don’t provide any information about it, other than showing it as one of their brands.
There also isn’t an official website for Henry Weinhard sodas.
So, there isn’t any official information about where you can buy it.
Therefore, your best bet is to buy it through the websites above, or to enquire at each individual store locally to you, to see whether they sell it.
Does Henry Weinhard’s root beer have alcohol?
Sodas that don’t contain alcohol are known as ‘soft’.
And is where the name soft drink comes from.
Companies that sell root beer will venture out into alcoholic versions from time to time.
So, it’s possible Henry Weinhard may make an alcoholic root beer in the future.
Henry Weinhard’s also makes 2 different beers, and they have won over 5 individual awards at the yearly World Beer Cup.
How much sugar is in Henry Weinhard’s soda?
Most people consume sugar in other foods such as snack foods, and cereal, as well as, tea and coffee.
Therefore, it’s a good idea to drink less than 1 can of soda per day. Or, drink the sugar-free/zero versions.
If you rarely drink sodas, it won’t have much effect to drink a whole can of soda.
However, if you regularly drink sodas, then it’s a good idea to cut back on sodas or drink zero sugar-free flavors.
Based on my research into whether table sugar is the same as sugar that naturally occurs in foods, it’s clear the science is currently inconclusive about whether sugar from natural sources like fruit and honey add to the recommended sugar intake.
But, there are certain naturally occurring sweeteners that are much sweeter than sugar such as stevia, which is 30 to 150 sweeter than sugar.
So, if you want to drink more sweetened soda, ones that are sweetened with stevia are a good option.
You can also make your own craft sodas using your own unique recipe so you can control the sweetness and create your own unique flavors.
I recently wrote an article about craft sodas, which explains how to make your own.
You can read it here what is craft soda.
Here’s a summary of the key points of this article:
Henry Weinhard makes 4 soda flavors: Root Beer, vanilla cream, orange cream, and black cherry cream.
All of them contain the same core ingredients carbonated water, flavors, and sweeteners.
Henry Weinhard root beer does not contain caffeine, gluten, or alcohol and has around the same amount of sugar as most sugar-sweetened sodas.
You can buy it through specialist soda websites, and sometimes it’s available on Amazon.
Henry Weinhard also makes two beers that have won numerous awards for their taste at the World Beer Cup.