Some people can not consume gluten. However, many foods and drinks contain gluten.
If you don’t want to or can’t consume gluten, then it’s essential to identify what foods contain gluten to avoid them.
Cola-flavored sodas are very popular, and in this article, I will explain whether Pepsi is gluten-free.
Overall, Pepsi is gluten-free.
But, the Pepsi 1893 Original Cola is made from products that contain gluten, according to the official PepsiCo website.
The Pepsi 1893 Original Cola is not commonly sold but is available at big-name stores like Walmart.
The official PepsiCo website states that they are not certified gluten-free.
But, none of their sodas – except Pepsi 1893 Original Cola – are made from products that contain gluten.
Below, I will explain if colas are gluten-free if any other well-known sodas are gluten-free, and how to know if a soda contains gluten.
Are There Any Sodas That Have Gluten?
Pepsi is one of the most popular carbonated beverages, but there are many different brands and flavors of sodas.
So, here’s the long and short of whether any sodas have gluten.
Overall, there are no sodas that contain gluten.
Non-alcoholic beer contains gluten but is technically not a soda, although it has similar properties such as being a carbonated beverage.
All popular types and brands of sodas, such as colas and Pepsi, do not contain gluten.
PepsiCo themselves do not make any claims that their sodas are gluten-free.
But, according to Celiac.com, a website for people with celiac disease, it is gluten-free.
Medical professionals have also backed this up at Healthline.com, which states that sodas do not contain gluten.
Most well-known sodas, such as Coke, Pepsi, and Sprite, do not contain gluten.
But there may be a few out there from lesser-known brands.
A perfect list of gluten-free sodas has been put together by Celiac.com, which you can view here.
Here is a list of some of the most well-known sodas and diet sodas that are gluten-free:
- A&W Root Beer
- Mountain Dew
Having gluten sensitivity means you must be careful about what foods you consume.
Therefore, it’s a good idea to refer to the list compiled by Celiac.com and pick out some sodas you like and only consume those.
Also, if you want to try a new soda that is less well-known, then it’s best to check the label or contact the company directly to verify that it is, in fact gluten-free.
Is Coca-Cola Gluten Free?
The Coca-Cola Company is the biggest soft drink producer in the world, and Coke and Pepsi are the two most popular colas in the world.
Coke is made from a range of different ingredients, so here is a rundown of whether Coca-Cola is gluten-free.
Regular Coca-cola is gluten-free. None of the sodas made by Coca-cola contain gluten.
The Coca-cola company states on its official website that if the other drinks they make contain gluten, it will be stated on the label.
But, overall, none of the drinks made by Coca-Cola contain gluten.
Coca-Cola makes various varieties of Coke, such as Coca-Cola Cherry and Vanilla.
They also make various limited-run versions of Coke. Most of these are gluten-free, as shown on the Celiac.com website above.
But, one of the new Coke variations may have gluten.
If you want to consume a new Coke flavor that just came out and isn’t listed on the Celiac.com website, I think it’s best to contact Coca-Cola directly to ensure it is gluten-free.
The reason is that although Coca-cola sodas are gluten-free, they are not certified gluten-free.
Therefore, they may bring out a flavor of Coke that contains gluten but is not stated on the label.
Are Cola Drinks Gluten-Free?
Many different brands now make colas, and they all taste slightly different.
Colas originally got their name from an ingredient used to make them, the kola nut, but nowadays, it’s no longer used.
Because of the wide range of ingredients used to make colas, here is whether all cola drinks are gluten-free or if there are some exceptions.
As a general rule, all cola drinks are gluten-free.
The cola drinks made by the most well-known brands, such as Pepsi and Coca-cola, do not contain gluten.
For lesser-known cola brands, it’s worth double-checking with the brand or label, particularly if you have a strong reaction to gluten.
There are quite a few craft colas, and because colas are so popular, many brands make them.
If you want to drink a cola that isn’t from one of the major soda brands, you should check the label and with the manufacturer to be sure.
I’m the owner and blogger here at SodaPopCraft.Com. I’m a soft drinks enthusiast and I’m bringing you all I know and research from the world of Soda Pop & Kombucha soft drinks.
I hope it inspires you to make your own healthier fizzy drinks at home.
Read more About Me here