Skip to Content

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

« Back to Glossary Index

**1. Judicial Seats and Vacancies:**
– Seat 1 established in 1869, currently held by Gibbons
– Seat 3 established in 1899, currently held by Readler
– Seat 5 established in 1938, currently held by Kethledge
– Vacant Memphis, TN seat due to Julia Smith Gibbons taking senior status
– Past judges of the Memphis seat include Ritz, Day, Simons, Allen, and Hamilton
– Historical establishment dates of various seats like Seat 8 (1966) and Seat 12 (1984)
– Criteria for filling vacancies based on seniority, age, and service duration

**2. Chief Judges’ Responsibilities:**
– Chief judges have administrative duties within the Sixth Circuit
– They preside over panels in the absence of the circuit justice
– Office of chief judge rotates among circuit judges based on specific criteria
– Rules for chief judges established since 1982
– Criteria for becoming a chief judge include age, service duration, and previous experience

**3. Historical Background and Court Information:**
– Sixth Circuit established in 1891
– Notable judges like William Howard Taft and Potter Stewart served on the court
– Court based in Cincinnati, Ohio with jurisdiction over several districts
– 16 judges currently serving on the court
– Background on the establishment and historical judges of the court

**4. Judges’ Terms and Historical Judges:**
– Details on judges like Jones, Cole Jr., Bloomekatz, McCree, and Keith
– Historical judges like Brooks, Lively, Batchelder, Kennedy, and Neilson
– Current judges serving on the Sixth Circuit and their terms
– Information on specific cases like Rogers v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. 230 F.3d 868 (6th Cir. 2000)

**5. References and Additional Information:**
– Sources like M. Neil Reed, Tom Vanderloo, and Stephanie Woebkenberg
– News on Biden gaining a vacancy to fill on the Sixth Circuit
– References to judicial directories and standard search instructions for further information.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit (in case citations, 6th Cir.) is a federal court with appellate jurisdiction over the district courts in the following districts:

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
(6th Cir.)
LocationPotter Stewart U.S. Courthouse
Appeals from
EstablishedJune 16, 1891
Circuit JusticeBrett Kavanaugh
Chief JudgeJeffrey Sutton

The court is composed of sixteen judges and is based at the Potter Stewart U.S. Courthouse in Cincinnati, Ohio. It is one of 13 United States courts of appeals.

The United States federal courts were divided into six circuits in 1801, but a circuit court of appeals was not established until the passage of the Judiciary Act of 1891.

William Howard Taft, the only person ever to serve as both President and Chief Justice of the United States, once served on the Sixth Circuit. Four other judges of the Sixth Circuit have been elevated to serve on the Supreme Court, the last being Potter Stewart in 1958.

« Back to Glossary Index