Skip to Content

Fulton County, Georgia

« Back to Glossary Index

**History and Geography**:
– Fulton County was created in 1853 from the western half of DeKalb County.
– Named after Robert Fulton, the creator of the first commercially successful steamboat.
– Witnessed violence against freedmen post-Civil War and an increase in lynchings of African Americans in the late 19th century.
– Annexed Milton County and Campbell County in 1932.
– Covers 534 square miles, with 1.4% being water, located in the Piedmont region.
– Became more cosmopolitan and diverse in the second half of the 20th century.

**Population and Demographics**:
– In the 2020 Census, Fulton County had a population of 1,066,710 people.
– Racial composition: 37.95% White, 42.07% Black or African American, 7.56% Asian, and 8.09% Hispanic or Latino.
– Families residing in the county numbered 238,444.
– In the 2010 Census, the population was 920,581 people with a racial makeup of 46.4% White, 44.3% Black or African American, 6.9% Asian, and 7.5% Hispanic or Latino.
– Average household size was 2.36, with a median income of $56,709.

**Economy and Governance**:
– Headquarters of various companies in Fulton County.
– Governed by a seven-member board of commissioners.
– Operates under a county manager system.
– Historically Democratic with diverse demographics.
– North Fulton residents have expressed concerns over tax allocation.
– Creation of new cities in Fulton County due to municipalization efforts.

**Infrastructure and Services**:
– Fulton County Sheriff’s Office responsibilities and notable figures.
– Transportation infrastructure including major highways and MARTA services.
– Recreational trails like BeltLine and Peachtree Creek Greenway.
– Airports: Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport and Fulton County Airport.
– Funding for resident services, Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System, and senior centers.

**Challenges and Controversies**:
– Residents advocate for seceding to re-form Milton County.
– Taxation issues and variances in sales tax rates.
– Political firestorm over proposed county division in 2006.
– Efforts for public transit expansion and greenway projects.
– Demographic shifts and opposition to county division from south Fulton.

33°47′N 84°28′W / 33.79°N 84.47°W / 33.79; -84.47

Fulton County
Atlanta's Fulton County Courthouse in 2011
Atlanta's Fulton County Courthouse in 2011
Flag of Fulton County
Official logo of Fulton County
Map of Georgia highlighting Fulton County
Location within the U.S. state of Georgia
Map of the United States highlighting Georgia
Georgia's location within the U.S.
Coordinates: 33°47′N 84°28′W / 33.79°N 84.47°W / 33.79; -84.47
Country United States
State Georgia
FoundedDecember 20, 1853; 171 years ago (1853)
Named forRobert Fulton
Largest cityAtlanta
 • Total534 sq mi (1,380 km2)
 • Land527 sq mi (1,360 km2)
 • Water7.7 sq mi (20 km2)  1.4%
 • Total1,066,710 Increase
 • Density2,000/sq mi (800/km2)
Time zoneUTC−5 (Eastern)
 • Summer (DST)UTC−4 (EDT)
Congressional districts5th, 6th, 11th, 13th

Fulton County is a county in the north-central portion of the U.S. state of Georgia. As of the 2020 United States census, the population was 1,066,710, making it the state's most populous county and its only one with over one million inhabitants. Its county seat and most populous city is Atlanta, the state capital. About 90% of the City of Atlanta is within Fulton County; the remaining portion is in DeKalb County. Fulton County is part of the Atlanta–Sandy Springs–Roswell, GA Metropolitan Statistical Area.

« Back to Glossary Index